Bookworm Orgasm

First off, apologies for the lack of updates, I guess not much has happened in my life in the last few weeks that bears mentioning!!

Work seems to be “same old same old” – my shift partner leaves for greener pastures at the end of this week 😦 Sad times.

My iPad arrived – yay! It truly is a good piece of kit! The absence of adobe and a flash player is slightly annoying but the incredible kindle app and social networking capabilities excite me greatly!

I downloaded my first book – Patrick Rothfuss’ “The Wise Man’s Fear” – was released in March but I had deliberately been waiting for an e-reader before I read it.

WELL WORTH THE WAIT! Mr Rothfuss has such an interesting way of telling his story.

The journey started with ” The Name Of The Wind”  and continues with the above.

Kvothe (our hero) has started a new life as Kote, a humble innkeeper. He is tracked down by a chronicler who has figured out who Kote really is and is desperate to hear his tales, so the whole two books start from Kvothe as a young boy through to him being fifteen, check out this paragraph and tell me that it doesn’t reek of awesomeness!

***

“I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep. My name is Kvothe. You may have heard of me.”

***

I devoured the book in two days, all 998 pages of it, my speed reading left me incredibly sad 😦 I’ll probably have to wait another 2 years for the next one.

My only saving grace …

A DANCE WITH DRAGONS IS RELEASED TOMORROW!!!!! OH YES!!!

I have it set to auto download on my iPad and I will hungrily be reading it every chance I get!!!!

Best be worth it GRRM!!!! ………

I cannot believe how many free books the Kindle has to offer, tis incredible. My geeky little heart practically explodes with joy each time I see a new free title pop up on my “recommendation list” – I’m a book whore, I’m sorry.

I have over 300 books in my bedroom and gave away over 150 late last year, I seriously cannot buy many more paper books, electronic all the way from now on!!!

My own writing is coming along well, I’m slightly torn though, do I finish writing my story to absolute completion, edit and split into three OR do I work at polishing the first third to perfection and send it off to an agent??

Thoughts greatly appreciated, especially from those who have any idea how the agent/ publishing world works!

I know some people will probably sneer and raise an eyebrow at me being so enthusiastic about my work, but I’m a great believer in “if you don’t try, you’ll never know”. I’m my own biggest critic and I lack a lot of self confidence, but I have grown to love my characters and my tale has progressed and is maturing at a good rate.

Away from the writing talk now and back to my real life!

Hospital appointment on the 20th … I have an ultrasound and have to drink a LITRE of water before hand, anyone who knows me will understand my anxiety at this. I have the world’s smallest bladder. Fact.

I cannot even manage a full cup of tea, how I am going to manage that much water is beyond me …. Arghhhhhh

My 3rd wedding anniversary is coming up on the 25th, where has the time gone??? I was reflecting the other day and realised that I will be 29 in February, my 20’s have flown past. Not happy, time for me to make my mark on the world!

With that, I’m off.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

