A Wistful Smile

Today has been “one of those days” …. I woke up super excited as ADWD had downloaded to my iPad overnight but within a few minutes I became dejected, today is the 2 year anniversary of the worst day of my life, the day my role model, my mentor, my surrogate mum and my favourite person left me.

I know some people will be thinking “surely John is your favourite person” but it’s fair to say my nanny was my favourite person. Always there for me, always picking up the pieces, drying my tears and offering me support in the parental role I so desperately missed.

Every person has their vices, and I’m not naive enough to think that my nanny was perfect, far from it. Nan could be stubborn and moody just like the rest of us, but she felt perfect to me.

I had a post on here last month I think talking about my nanny so I won’t be morbid or down for too long, suffice to say that I will always remember her, always miss her and always use her as a “guide”.

I often think WWND? (What Would Nanny Do) when tackling difficult problems, it helps assess though situations where I would normally disappear into a tizz and cry!!

I intend to make an apple crumble in the next few days, have a large dollop of ice cream and pay homage to my dearly missed and loved nanny the way she would like – with a smile and a laugh at the good times.

I cried and cried when I was told she was gone, but looking back, when she took her last breath she was laughing and smiling with family and a cup of tea in her hand, it was painless and over in seconds – what an amazing way to leave this plane of existence. With love and family, that’s amazing and I’m slowly starting to accept this.

Grandad is still with us, and I regret not seeing him enough but as I’ve got older my spare time seems to have shrunk!

Enough of the morbidness (is that a word?)

My iPad 2 broke today, the home button became unresponsive. To say I was miffed is an understatement. I love my iPad and have crowed and crowed over it for the last 10 days – stupid Apple!

I phoned the local Apple Store, I say local, it’s 40 minutes away. They booked me in with the “genius bar” and I went over.

The customer service was second to none РWithin 15 minutes I had a brand new iPad 2 with a fresh 12 month  warranty Рapparently the issue I had was a known hardware problem.

Just re-synced everything up and it all appears to be working A-OK soooooooo …. grump over!

Leave a Reply

