Love Doesn’t Sit There, Like A Stone, It Has To Be Made, Like Bread: Re-made All The Time, Made New.

Love is ….

Love is... #72

forgiving even if you are really angry.

***

So I’ve had an odd weekend, I won’t bore you with details of work (although it was heinously busy!)

It’s now Sunday evening and I’ve finally synced up my external HDD to my laptop and iTunes.  I can finally listen to all my music, I’m currently listening to “Back to Bedlam” by James Blunt. Perhaps one of the most beautiful albums of the last 10 years (IMHO)

I am actually listening to the lyrics today as well, they are heartbreaking, poignant, eloquent, full of love and understanding and they got me thinking …

I wonder how many of us have thrown away something good, something special because of either our youth, idiocy, shortsightedness, arrogance or even because of our anger? I can easily put my hand up to this. Now’s not the time to explain as it’s not the focus of my post though …

I’ve had a couple of chats this weekend with four different friends, the topic for all of them was their relationship. Skirting around the issues so that these people don’t feel embarrassed or “singled out” what really gets my goat and angers me if the way that we seem to take our partners for granted and sometimes we don’t cherish them or treat them with the respect they deserve.

“We all want to fall in love. Why? Because that experience makes us feel completely alive. Where every sense is heightened, every emotion is magnified, our everyday reality is shattered and we are flying into the heavens. It may only last a moment, and hour, an afternoon. But that doesn’t diminish its value. Because we are left with memories that we treasure for the rest of our lives.”
– Unknown 

I don’t really know what the point of this post is, but I’m such a romantic at heart. I believe in soulmates, I believe in love, happiness and marriage.

I believe true love never dies, it changes, of course it does, true love is all consuming and powerful. It’s the moment you first kiss, the moment you cry together, the moment you make love and not just have sex.

It’s the holding of hands, the cuddling at night, the wiping away of tears and the comforting during the bad times.

It’s the laughing at each others bad jokes, it’s finishing each others sentences, it’s those little looks you give each other whilst secretly knowing what that other person is thinking.

It’s the sharing memories, it’s the sharing of experiences and it’s the opening up and sharing your fears, dreams and desires.

Over the years it may change, the all consuming sexual desire may fade slightly, but what have you gained? You’ve gained a best  friend, a rock, a person who knows everything about you and will always be there for you regardless of plans. They won’t cancel on you and if they do, you know it’s for the most legitimate of reasons. They know every inch of your body and they love you for YOU. You don’t have to pimp and preen yourself everyday to gain their attention – you already have it. They have your heart and your ear.

Respect is something we all take for granted and hope to show others, but sometimes, just sometimes, we hurt the ones we love the most by not showing them the respect that we would like to be shown ourselves.

If I could reach up and hold a star for every time you’ve made me smile, the entire evening sky would be in the palm of my hand.”
– Unknown 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

