Precious

Two posts in two days, but I have to write this post, I have a burning need to get out the pent up emotion.

Today, I was informed that a friend of my sister committed suicide by jumping off a multi storey car park. He was 17 years old.

Now, I didn’t know him, I recognised him from around town and I’m sure I smiled and nodded to him several times but it doesn’t stop the feeling of sadness I feel at the situation.

My heart breaks for his family, his friends and also him.

Alochol does a great many things, it lowers our inhibitions, it makes comedians of the quiet, it makes us feel good about ourselves but sometimes, with the wrong person it compounds the feelings of pain and hurt they spend so long trying to overcome or in this case, hide.

Everyone who knows me also knows that I’m not a big drinker, I never have been and never will be. I don’t blame alcohol for the tragic circumstances that took place, but without a shadow of a doubt, it didn’t help, I’m not naive enough to be wondering why a 17 year old was drinking, but I do wonder why and when society changed so drastically and allowed the young and impressionable to obtain alcohol so easily.

The buying age is set for a reason, the primary reason being health and addiction. The physical addiction to alcohol is horrendous, but then are also cases like this, where the introduction of alcohol to an already fragile mind spells disaster.

Without it, he may have gone on to commit suicide, who knows? But the manner in which he needlessly died is the big cause for concern, it wasn’t instantaneous and he would have been in a lot of pain. Alcohol blurred the line of conscious thought and reason.

I’m a big advocate for mental health services and removing the stigma surrounding those with problems, so I really do get upset when I hear about a needless loss of life such as this.

“If only” is a phrase we always use when we regret something.

If only he had someone to talk to

If only he had received help

If only he hadn’t been at the party

If only I had been there to help him …

If you ever feel that way, there is always something you can do, the Samaritans are always looking for volunteers (http://www.samaritans.org 08457 909090 ) the local mental health charities always opens their arms in support of help.

On a basic level, be there for your friends, if they are down and low – perhaps that chat you’ve been putting off might be the one they need to help pick them up?

Situations like this always press home how neglectful I’ve been of some friends in the past (you know who you are) and yes, I feel guilty.

When my sister told me about what happened, I was listening to “PRECIOUS” by DEPECHE MODE – this song was actually written for his children following the divorce to their mother, but the lyrics are so poignant that I was moved to tears.

Precious and fragile things

Need special handling

My God what have we done to You?

We always try to share

The tenderest of care

Now look what we have put You through…

Things get damaged

Things get broken

I thought we’d manage

But words left unspoken

Left us so brittle

There was so little left to give

Angels with silver wings

Shouldn’t know suffering

I wish I could take the pain for You

If God has a master plan

That only He understands

I hope it’s Your eyes He’s seeing through

Things get damaged

Things get broken

I thought we’d manage

But words left unspoken

Left us so brittle

There was so little left to give

I pray You learn to trust

Have faith in both of us

And keep room in Your heart for two

Things get damaged

Things get broken

I thought we’d manage

But words left unspoken

Left us so brittle

There was so little left to give

Leave a Reply

