Nice Weather.

A duck turned up at my house today,

with a cup of tea in his hand.

“Hello,” he smiled. “Nice weather today,

but not for me you  understand.”

The sky was clear, not a cloud in sight.

So I smiled at the duck, and replied:

“Such a shame, Mr Duck, that there is no rain,

but perhaps you should look on the bright side.

With no rain in the street. The children can play,

on the bikes, in the park, or their garden.”

Mr Duck looked at me, with shame in his eyes.

“You’re right, please, I beg for your pardon.”

“I just really want some rain, Miss Sam.

To wiggle my bum in the water.

You see, I’m after a luv’ly Mrs Duck,

and then a son and daughter.

I want to show the ladies my feathers.

I mean, don’t I look super pretty?”

I nodded at him and enthusiastically added:

“The most dashing duck in the city.”

With a quack and grin he finished his tea,

and waddled away down my pathway.

And with a wave, and a wiggle he said his goodbye.

What a seemingly strange and curious day.

Leave a Reply

