A Few Things I’m Looking Forward To Watching (TV and Cinema) This Month…

I bought Empire magazine yesterday. Something I’ve not done since I was around 18 years old and thought I was ‘cool’ with my magazine half hanging out of my canvas backpack while I sauntered around in my Vans, wearning my skater trousers and Limp Bizkit tee shirt… Ah youth…

I digress.

I bought the magazine as I needed something to read and my iPad AND iPhone were dead (no ‘Apple Sucks’ jokes please!) and flicking through I saw the trailer for Hemlock Grove – another Netflix original tv show directed by Eli Roth.

I’m actually looking forward to this. There’s been an influx of supernatural tv shows recently that haven’t really cut the mustard (the new Beauty and the Beast anyone? Secret Circle?) and it’s time that something darker and clearly for an adult audience came to the little screens. With actors such as Famke Janssen and Dougray Scott, it has the talent – so let’s hope it has the content (I have read that there’s a weird vampire/tampon/oral sex scene that pushes the boundaries a little…)!

Hemlock Grove Trailer

 

Oz, The Great and Powerful. I’ll be dragging the husband to the cinema to see this. Fantasy, decadence, theatrics, twists and all things lovely. I’ve heard that Disney spent $200 million on this. Pause and consider. $200 million. Wow. I don’t think it’s going to be a box office smash, but we’ll see. I just hope it doesn’t flop like the poorly advertised ‘John Carter’ (that I actually thoroughly enjoyed).

Oz The Great and Powerful Trailer

 

Next comes Stoker. Empire magazine gives this 5 stars. Chris Tookey from the Daily Mail gives it 1 star. As Mr Turkey, sorry, Tookey, hated it. I’m sure I’ll love it.

Mia Wasikowska was great in Jane Eyre. Matthew Goode was one of the best things about Watchmen, and with Chan-Wook Park (writer of Oldboy) in control of a script by Wentworth Miller of Prison Break fame – what can go wrong? In my mind, very little. But clearly the reviewer from the highly intellectual and stimulating Daily Fail… a lot. We’ll see.

Stoker Trailer

 

And also out this month… Hansel and Gretel. I know. I know. It looks terrible. It looks cheesy and stupid. With guns, explosions, lots of leather and… who am I trying to kid? It looks all kinds of awesome. It’s unpretentious. It’s not trying to win awards. It’s a popcorn munching entertainment movie. I know that I can sit in the cinema for 2 1/2 hours, switch off and just enjoy Jeremy Renner on the screen. The film, I mean, enjoy the film on the screen…

Hansel and Gretel Trailer

*

There’s a lot more out over the next few months. But, I think these are the movies/shows I want to pay attention to in March.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

