With Actidiet Comes Vegetarianism.

So, my Actidiet arrived yesterday and today is Day 1. Slight blip first thing, whoever last had ice didn’t refill the ice tray and so I wasn’t able to have my nice, thick chocolate shake…grr… so scrambled eggs it was (I’ll explain why later).

I ordered enough for 2 weeks. Shake for breakfast, mushroom pasta for dinner and spag bol for tea. What I love about Actidiet is that each meal is nutritionally balanced and suitable for vegetarians. While it may only be 600 calories a day, you know that you’ll get what everything you need and so when your body enters ketosis it won’t use muscle for energy and will use the stored fat. I know a lot of people get sick of ‘faddy diets’, but the ketogenic diet is used in some children with epilepsy and it makes me think that if it was dangerous, then I doubt it would be endorsed by hospitals (such as Great Ormond Street). As someone who has a few health problems, I like that this is strict but easy to follow and does provide results. This is my 2nd time on Actidiet, last year I lost 14lb in 3 weeks and kept the weight off, but lost a bit of willpower and ended up eating rubbish again. Shit, I know, but hey – no point looking behind, let’s look forward!

I wanted to start the day off perfectly on the diet, but instead I got as close as possible. Scrambled eggs contain something like 2g of carbohydrates and calorie wise they are close to the shakes. I don’t feel too bad, but when I go out tonight I’ll be getting a big bag of ice to make sure it doesn’t happen again!

Moving on to the vegetarianism…this is giving me the good kick up the bum to make a second change. No more meat. I spent a period of 4-5 months meat free in 2012-2013 and miraculously, I started ovulating again during that period. Coincidence? No, I don’t think so. I’ve never been a lover of red meat and so I’m going to use time on Actidiet to really rethink my meat-eating. With my IVF forefront, I’ll make sure that the changes I make won’t effect any medication, but I’m sure I’ll be fine.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to be one of those that preach about the moral high ground on not eating animals, but I do call myself an animal lover and I don’t really want to be a hypocrite.

Anyway, it’s time for me to go and have another litre of water…

Leave a Reply

