Here We Go!

Ok, so it’s been a few months since I posted. I’ve kept those on Facebook up-to-date, but forgot that not everyone uses Facebook…

Today, I’m 14 weeks pregnant! Last week we had our NT scan and saw one beautiful and relaxed baby – legs up, reclining and generally just chilling. It was so amazing seeing an actual ‘baby shape’ and not just a gummy bear shaped blob! Baby sucked his or her thumb on cue and did a little dance while the sonographer showed us all the important bits and bobs. Mostly though, baby was calm and snoozing.

Our due date is still the 10th August. At the moment baby is measuring on the smaller end of the scale, but obviously we’ve got a long way to go and lots of growth spurts ahead of us!
10984618_10155142686265134_6934795583628331709_n

We’ve got around 5-6 weeks to go before we find out if Baby Smith is a boy or girl, and while I’m looking to ensure that I don’t get caught up in the pink/blue, girls/boys camp, I do want to buy some cute little bits!

I’m still keeping an eye on my weight. I’m very conscious that I was overweight when we ‘conceived’ and I worry that with my thyroid and lazy behaviour, I’ll pile on the pounds. I don’t want to give birth and hate my body. I have enough issues as it is with self-confidence and self-esteem and so if I can ensure that I don’t gain too much, I’ll feel a lot better. The NHS guidelines state that those classed as ‘obese’ should look to gain no more than 15lb. I’m going to try and keep to this as safely and sensibly as possible.

I’m still so thankful to everyone that helped me during my weight loss journey prior to the IVF. I could NOT have done it without your support and kindness.

One response

  1. Oh sweetie, I’m so so proud of you. You know I have my own journey that I’m embarking on and I cannot overstate how inspirational and how encouraging you’ve been and just how thrilled I am for you! You’ll be a fabulous mum honey, bet you can’t wait until August 10th!!! 😀 xxxx

Leave a Reply

