Big Decisions

Life has changed so much in the last 5 weeks. All for the better, I might add! In the early hours, while feeding little man, I find myself thinking about all the fun things I want us to do as a family: trips out, arts and crafts and so on…I can’t wait to do all sorts of things with him that my parents failed to do with me and my siblings.

Of course, all things cost money – even the cheapest of activities (stuff at home) has an outlay and with the cost of nursery from February costing in excess of £600 a month (which is practically all our disposable income), we need to be able to afford to do these things with him.

So, I’ve decided to put a halt on my degree for the foreseeable. At the moment I pay between £100-200 a month to the Open University depending on what modules I’m doing. I’m 1/2 way through and realistically have another 3 years to go. That’s a lot of money I could be putting aside and saving for Logan and his future, for his enrichment with experiences and for him to have fun.

My degree was for my ego. For me to say to myself ‘I am not stupid.’ In the last three years I’ve grown as a person. I’m more confident, calmer, more secure and feel less of a loser. I know I’m not stupid. I co-run a business, I work hard, I have a close group of friends, a welcoming home and loving pets, and so far I’ve aced all of my university modules…I’d say that’s not bad!

I will pick up my degree again in the future, but my boy is more important. I want to have money saved for emergencies and for him. That’s more important than a piece of paper and a few letters.

One response

  1. Honey, a degree is something you can pick up at any time, you have so many wonderful things going on at the moment, that’s not a priority anymore. But you will do it one day, there’s one thing I’ve grown to really understand about you sweetie, that you truly can do ANYTHING you put your mind to. You’re an inspiration kiddo. 😉 xxx

Leave a Reply

