Did You Know…

There’s only 98 sleeps until Christmas?

Those that know me also know that I’m not a big lover of Christmas. I’ve always found it to be expensive and over the top. Several times I’ve tried to get into the spirit of things with decorations and social events, but it’s always left me a little dead inside, and sad. I make up for it by getting people awesome gifts so that I can share in their happiness and hope it rubs off on me. Sometimes it does, most of the time it doesn’t.

Part of it comes from my childhood. When you were made to wrap all your siblings Christmas presents AND your own, the magic is lost. Year after year, I’d wrap my own presents…what was the point? I’d know what I’d been bought and there was no excitement. I do like surprises.

I loved Christmas dinner at my grandparent’s. That was always great. Everyone gathering around the dinner table (and I had my spot between Granddad and Nanny), smiles and laughter. It was one of the only occasions where there wasn’t shouting or arguments. With hindsight it’s easy to see that the lack of tension was false and forced for Christmas, but that doesn’t really matter now.
Now we have Logan, I’m excited again.

I want a tree
I want decorations
I want the Christmas jumpers
I want him to have an elf outfit
I want to make a gingerbread house with him
I want personalised stockings
I want him jumping on our bed in the early hours with excitement
I want the happy Christmas dinners with his Granddad and Nanny Smith
I want…everything

It’s my goal for him to experience the magic for as long as possible. Even when he realises that Father Christmas isn’t real (SPOILER!), I want him to have fun and excitement. I won’t spoil him with gifts or money, but  I will with love, happiness and fun times with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

